Binh Thuy temple was built in 1844 to worship the tutelary of Binh Hung village. According to legend, in 1852,…
Binh Thuy temple was built in 1844 to worship the tutelary of Binh Hung village. According to legend, in 1852, the province chief mandarin Huynh Man Dat suddenly caught a squall on his inspection across Hau river. His boat was safely hidden in Binh Hung canal. After that, he named the village Binh Thuy. When coming back to the court, he submitted a memorial to King Tu Duc and the village paid honour to the king by calling him “Bổn Cảnh Thành Hoàng” (tutelary god of the charming village) and wanted to rebuild the pagoda. Annually, the temple has two main festivals: Thượng Điền and Hạ Điền (sacrifice-dedicated ceremonies to the God of earth at the beginning of farm work) in the fourth month and the twelfth month in lunar year. This place was recognized as national architectural art relic in 1989.
Address: Le Hong Phong street, Binh Thuy ward, Binh Thuy district, Can Tho city.